Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from cwerner567. Make your own badge here.

Pre-Pregnancy weight: 195 lbs.

Current Weight at end of pregnancy: 202 lbs.

July 12, 2003 - 5:23 p.m.

Hello everyone from my zone. I have just gotten home from the hospital today around 12:30. And with me I brought my baby. That's right. I had my baby girl on Wednesday morning. Let me tell you the whole story before I forget it.

It all started Teusday, July 8. I was having contractions all day long but they were irregular. Some would come every 5 min, then taper off to every 30 min. I had gone to my WIC appt and to the community college that morning. Gone home for lunch and then we decided to hang out at S's parents house that evening and thus ended up having dinner there too. Around 9:45 that night I went to the bathroom to pee, and then realized that it wasn't stopping. *grin* I stood up, dressed myself, and walked back out to their living room and said, "S, I think it's time to go to the hospital." He looked at me asked why, I said "I think my water broke" just as another gush of water went running down my leg. So off we went to the hospital and we arrived there at 9:55 pm. They hooked me up to a fetal and contraction monitor. Which would have been too cool to watch if it wasn't actually me having all those wonderful contractions. My nurse brought in a little ultra sound machine to check the position of the baby more acuratly. The baby was still rather high and she was crooked in my pelvis which caused her to be stuck right behind the bone. And she was facing my stomach instead of my butt. I finally asked for some drugs and recieved phinergen and stadol. I was blessed with an hour of sleep but was rudely woke up by horrid toe curling contractions that I'm surprised I don't have hair growing on my chest. I was just concentrating on getting through the next contraction. I kept getting up to walk around but my meanie nurse kept telling me to stay laying down. Let me tell you. Standing up and walking definitly makes contractions feel better then just laying there. (Okay, so contractions feel horrible, but this is the truth dude) And then she went to check me and kept her hand in me through 4 contractions! I about died with pain. I didn't want anyone touching me. I kept a hold of S's hand and that's all I wanted. He tried to hold my other hand but I said no. The two nurses kept moving around the monitors on my belly and I kept telling them to stop touching me. S told me he thought I was going to punch them both out. When the doc came in to introduce himself (my doc went on vacation, go figure) I was on my hands and knees with my naked butt swinging around in all my contractional glory. He said "I don't usually like to meet my new patients this way but looks like we don't have much choice do we?" I just turned my head after the contraction, smiled and said "Hey! I'm C." Turned back around and went back to my world. Around 4:45 in the morning, give or take, my coherency went out the door after I woke up from blessed drug induced sleep at 4 am, the doc came running in and said "we got to get her in and get that baby out NOW!" My baby was in distress! Although I was all the way to 10 centimenters, the contractions and me pushing were making her heartbeat go down below 80 beats. So the mean nurse prepped me right there and then told me to put my knees to my chest. I wasn't having anyone's knees to my chest let alone my own and told her so. I ended up back on my hands and knees being rushed to the operating room. Let me tell you what, those nurses can really haul some ass cuz they were literally running with me on this bed as fast as all get out. It was all I could do to hang on for dear life. And then the bottom of the bed started going out from beneath me in the OR. They thought I was crazy until someone told them I was really telling the truth and moved me over to the operating table. I finally got turned over to lay on my back. A nurse was yelling at me to stop moving me legs around when I had contractions while the anestheseologist was telling the risk factors of being put under. I told him just go ahead and do it but he said he had to wait till everyone else was ready. I almost reached over and forced him to put me to sleep. Hee hee. But then when someone put the oxygen mask on me, they forgot to put the oxygen on. I told them twice I couldn't breathe and they all thought I was choking until someone took off my mask and realized what was really going on. And then I was put under and woke up around 9 am. I apparently had woken up earlier but I don't remember much. I asked for my baby but her temp hadn't stablized yet so I didn't get to see her till 10:30 am on July 9.

And I now must go see her again because I have these two wet spots in front of my shirt. And breasts that are full and I must keep up feeding if I want to keep away the engorgement. :)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!