Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from cwerner567. Make your own badge here.

Pre-Pregnancy weight: 195 lbs.

Current Weight at end of pregnancy: 202 lbs.

March 16, 2006 - 12:40 p.m.

What you choose to do with your family should be left with your family and not be shoved onto MINE. Sure I find your views interesting and may even get ideas from them that may work in my family but really, I don't CARE if you let your kids cry it out for an hour every night to get them to sleep.
And don't push a parenting book on me simply because the author is portrayed as "Christian". Just because I'm a church going citizen and believe certain things does NOT mean that I think every parenting advice given by so called Christians is correct or the only way to go. Yes, I may pay more attention but really, I am going to do what's best for MY FAMILY. And if that means I'm going to nurse my kids to sleep, nurse on demand and nurse them till they are 2 or 3 yrs old, then LEAVE ME ALONE. If that also means that my kids climb into bed with Schuyler and I sometime in the middle of the night, we delay vaccination and other AP LIKE pricipals, LEAVE ME ALONE. We are adults and completly able to parent our children. If we need or want advice on anything, we'll ask.
See, this is why I enjoy having a friend like Karyl. Even though we do things differently, at least she will tell me ideas that worked with her baby that might work with my children. And vice versa. And even though we may disagree on some things, we know that what we do in our families works for us and keeps us from going insane.
Because really, parenting is all about TWO THINGS. # 1: to raise our children into law abiding responsible adults who are true to themeselves and # 2 to do things that benefit the family as a whole so no one goes insane.
And one more thing, just because one thing worked for one child doesn't mean it'll work for the next one. Hopefully it will work but you never know. And yes, I respond to what my kids need and if that also means that I'm holding an infant while eating dinner so we have peace and quiet then so be it and keep your stupid ignorant comments to yourself. Especially if I whip out my boob to feed my child, ya'll don't even want to go there. Not that I whip it out to show YOU what it looks like because I'd rather keep them covered myself but if baby is hungry, baby is hungry. No, I don't show everything, the only time you'd see anything is if you HAPPEN to look over while the baby is latching on.
Okay, I'm done venting now. :)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!