Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from cwerner567. Make your own badge here.

Pre-Pregnancy weight: 195 lbs.

Current Weight at end of pregnancy: 202 lbs.

March 31, 2006 - 10:22 p.m.

Who would electivly have major abdominal surgery? Really, truly, WHO? I hear it's becoming more main stream. To have a baby surgically removed from your body, on purpose. Someone would willingly pay a doctor a huge sum of money to have surgery, have a baby, then have the PAIN of recovery on top of having to care for a baby. Granted, yes, your spouse may be with you to help for a few day and maybe a few friends will come help too but really, recovering from a c-section is not a picnic, I don't care if you're in shape or not.
I have never, nor will I EVER, electively have a c-section. It is my misfortune that mother nature gave me a body that does not function correctly when it comes to labor and delivery. Because of this, I am FORCED to deliver my children this way. If it were up to me, I would deliver in my own house, under the guidence of a midwife, on my bed (or in my living room, although not a water birth because those just give me the heebie jeebies), surrounded by my husband and children. Recovery time from a vaginal birth is much shorter. I would not require extra post partum check ups. I would not need to be extra careful about my wound. I, in fact, could lay happily nursing my newborn (or feeding her/him a bottle) without having to worry about where to lay the baby because my belly would not be sore from surgery.
In all reality, I just don't see any reason to justify why a rational person would choose to have major ab surgery. The pain is still there, it comes after the surgery. You are given drugs such as morphine and vicoden to use for pain. I used it up to 2 1/2 wks AFTER I had my children. Both times. And I was using it sparingly too.
I wish this trend was not happening. I wish women would be more educated about their own bodies and also learn from others experiences.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!