Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from cwerner567. Make your own badge here.

Pre-Pregnancy weight: 195 lbs.

Current Weight at end of pregnancy: 202 lbs.

November 02, 2002 - 8:32 a.m.

It's official. I've become one of those people in high school I dispised. I have become. . ... a snob. I came to this realization in the car on the way home last night from the military ball. I am so used to going to these military functions and actually meeting new people who KNEW what they were talking about, and knew SOMETHING about the life in the Navy. Well. I was wrong. I soon saw that 95% of these kids were 18/19 years old, had no idea what life was like outside of college, and maturity levels were that of 18/19 year olds. And it was odd to see people 5 to 6 years younger then us in officer uniforms. . . Aren't officers supposed to be older? Anyhow, I must have looked like a first class snob because hardly anyone talked to me. Even when I tried to start conversation. GRR.

Oh, let me tell you one thing that really irritated me, I swear, I'm not trying to be snotty. A guy at our table brought his girlfriend as a date. Well, at the dinner they set up a table for the lost sailors/marines. It's tradition they set a place for one and serve the table dinner to remind us of the lives lost in serving our country. Anyhow, they did this whole thing of telling why they had a table set for one and setting a folded flag at the front of the table and played taps. I had tears in my eyes while everyone else thought I was psycho. Back to the story, when we sat down, this guys girlfriend asked why they set a place where no one was sitting. Why they were serving dinner to dead service members. Even though the speaker had explained the whole table and the story behind it.

Please tell me I am not a snob. I could not believe she would ask that, I could not and can not grasp why she didn't understand the symbolism and tradition of having the table set at most military functions.

That was the incident that just set me off into snob mode I geuss for the whole evening. GRRR. Anyhow. I know I'm not a snob. I just came off that way. And I really didn't mean to. I am going to have to remind myself that military people are a minority in Houston. That not everyone, even in the ROTC program, don't have a clue when I start talking about work ups to a 6 month cruise. And that I will have to explain when people ask questions.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!