Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from cwerner567. Make your own badge here.

Pre-Pregnancy weight: 195 lbs.

Current Weight at end of pregnancy: 202 lbs.

May 30, 2006 - 8:56 a.m.

Why is it when people ask and I tell them that I am a stay at home mother/wife that they look at you like you have it easy and that you have "lost yourself" in the old fashioned way of women? Really now. I CHOSE to stay at home. I CHOSE to be the one to stay home to raise my children. I CHOSE not to go to work and to take time off from school. It's all choices here. And yes, I am fortunate that my husband earns enough to provide these choices but that does not mean I have lost who I am. I knew who I was before I got married and before I had children. I don't need them to define who I am, they only enhance my personality. Granted, my children take up a great responsibilty, I still manage to find time to take a class at the local community college. I still manage to write this entry in my blog. I still find time to do things for myself that help keep my sanity. Yes, my children and my husband are my life, meaning I have little time to myself but I am still ME. I have responsibilities to my home, my husband, my children and to myself but that does not mean that a person has the right to assume that just because I stay home I am no longer true to myself.
It really gets under my skin. that and people assume that staying at home is easy as pie. Really it's not. I have kids to take care of, a house to clean, laundry to do, bills to pay and a husband on a boat thousands of miles away to worry about. And somehow, I manage to grab a shower and enjoy the 10 minutes of quiet before my kids wake up in the morning. (somehow I woke up before they did today. . )

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!