Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from cwerner567. Make your own badge here.

Pre-Pregnancy weight: 195 lbs.

Current Weight at end of pregnancy: 202 lbs.

July 20, 2006 - 10:40 p.m.

I find it interesting how different areas of the country pronounce cities differently. For example, here in VA, Norfolk is pronounce "NAWFUK" and you sound like you are saying a swear word but there is a Norfolk in Nebraska and they pronounce it like it's spelled, which sounds like you swallow the whole entire word. And even though I've lived here in the Hampton Roads area for a total of 5 1/2 -6 yrs, I still do not say Norfolk correctly. I am much better but still don't sound quite native enough. Which I suppose is a good thing because one must never forget their roots. And I can not since my best friend Karyl always pokes fun at my not so southern way of saying "NAWFUK".
Only reason I bring this up is because my next door neighbor and I have started walking in the evenings. We were chatting about college and she is going to ODU in Norfolk. Now she said it like she hadn't lived here her whole life, as if she moved here from elsewhere. Maybe she did? I'll have to ask her tomorrow where she grew up. Or maybe she just doesn't like the "hokey pokey" way of saying Norfolk. LOL.
Anyhow. .. .I'd better get to bed. My book is starting to get good, that and Karyl is anxiously waiting for me to finish so she could read it too!!! Damn me and my pokey reading, ROFL.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!